There are many reasons why people decide to start using marijuana extracts instead of natural state marijuana. Common forms of extracts, like butane hash oil, may not smell as strongly as actual marijuana, making them easier to hide.
They are also more potent, meaning less will have more of an effect on your body. For those with serious medical conditions, that higher dose may be important. There are other reasons as well, including the fact that dabs are simply trendy and popular right now.
No matter how many people you know use marijuana extracts, they are very risky for people in Virginia. While some states don't differentiate between natural state marijuana and extracts, Virginia does. The law in this state has harsher penalties for those accused of possession of marijuana extracts when compared to those accused of possession of natural state marijuana.
Virginia still prosecutes people for marijuana possession
While some states have changed their laws to legalize and regulate recreational marijuana use and other jurisdictions have decriminalized marijuana possession, Virginia is not one of them. Some people think of Virginia as more progressive when it comes to marijuana, as first time possession offenses often result in fines and up to 30 days in jail.
Second offenses, however, carry up to a year in jail and a much larger fine. There are also harsh penalties for those accused of growing or selling marijuana, as well as those accused of possession of marijuana extracts, such as dabs or even pressed hash.
What are the penalties for extract possession in Virginia?
If you end up accused of possession of marijuana extracts and facing charges, those criminal charges will be felonies. Possessing any amount of marijuana extracts or concentrates could mean between one and ten years in jail, as well as a fine of up to $2,500. Those charges don't change based on the amount of marijuana extract involved.
That means you could end up facing a decade in jail for the residue from a dabbing device. If you have a scale to make sure you receive what you pay for, law enforcement could even use that as evidence that you intended to distribute the extract to others. In that scenario, you could face a felony charge for selling, giving or possessing with intent to distribute. That charge carries between five and 40 years in jail, as well as a fine of up to $500,000.
Some people use marijuana extracts to help with medical conditions and may bring them in from nearby states with medical marijuana programs. If you get caught bringing in an ounce or more of extract, the potential penalties are steep. You could face between five and 40 years in jail and have to pay up to $1,000,000 in fines. Anyone facing marijuana extract charges needs to take them seriously and consider all of their options.