In Virginia, anyone who's been convicted of either 12 minor or 3 major drunk driving convictions during a single 10-year period may be labeled as a habitual offender by either court officials or the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
A Montgomery County, Virginia, man will be spending many years behind bars after pleading guilty to a multitude of different charges stemming from his arrest for driving under the influence (DUI) back on July 4. The incident that resulted in the charges being filed against the man occurred along the portion of Interstate 81 that runs through Montgomery County.
Getting a DUI is never an ideal situation for your driver's license record. However, despite the disastrous consequences that it can have on your life, DUIs are quite frequently given out, and it could be argued that the methods used to convict drivers of a DUI are not very accurate and dependable.
If you're arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), then it's highly probable that you'll have your driver's licensed suspended, have fines imposed and spend at least one night in jail. What you often don't hear about, however, are the long term consequences that having a DUI conviction on your record may have on future job prospects.
There are many penalties associated with being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Virginia. You're likely to have your driver's license suspended, serve some time in jail, pay significant fines and fees and be asked to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on your car.
A new drunk driving bill, SB 308, has just been passed through the Virginia Senate with an overwhelming 37-3 vote. It's now headed to the Virginia General Assembly before it becomes law. If passed, this bill would make it legal for anyone to drive along their own residential property while drunk.
You may have played out in your mind what would happen if you came across a driving under the influence (DUI) checkpoint one of those nights after you'd consumed a few too many drinks. You may have even wondered what would happen if you came up to one and decided to either turn around or to refuse a breath test.
A standard threshold for determining whether a driver is too intoxicated to safely operate a vehicle in the United States is if their blood alcohol content level (BAC) is at .08 percent or higher.
Many assume that because their jurisdiction is smaller, a campus police patrol's law enforcement capacity is inferior to that of larger police forces. This is far from the case.
A charge of driving under the influence (DUI) is dealt with harshly in Virginia. A conviction for such a charge often results in your license being suspended for more than six months, hefty fines and potential jail time. If those penalties weren't scary enough, a conviction for an aggravated DUI charge elevates the crime to a higher level crime. That, in turn, impacts how harsh the penalties will be in your case.