Helping You Fight For the Best Possible Outcome in Your Criminal Proceedings SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION NOW

Underage Drinking Attorney in Christiansburg, Virginia

Underage Drinking Attorney in Christiansburg, Virginia

If you or your child has been charged with underage drinking in Christiansburg, Virginia, you may be feeling frustrated, embarrassed, or even angry at your circumstances. I know this can be a very difficult time for you, so I will work diligently to make sure your voice is heard and your rights are protected. It’s my goal to obtain the most positive result for your situation so you can learn from your mistakes and move on. If you live in Christiansburg, Blacksburg, or Hillsville, Virginia, contact my firm — Clemons Law, P.C. — today to schedule a free consultation.

As a criminal defense attorney at Clemons Law, P.C. I have years of experience defending people charged with underage drinking or alcohol possession throughout Christiansburg, Virginia and the surrounding communities, including Blacksburg and Hillsville. Contact my office today by filling out a brief form below or giving me a call to schedule a free consultation. I’ll be there to help you every step of the way to assist you in seeking a favorable result.

In Virginia, it is against the law for anyone under the age of 21 to consume, purchase, possess, or even attempt to purchase alcohol. If you’re caught doing any of these things before you turn 21, you could be facing serious consequences. It’s important to get in contact with an underage drinking attorney as soon as possible so they can begin building a case in your favor.

Before you want to settle on an attorney to represent you — or if you decide an attorney is right for your situation in the first place — you probably have some questions about your case, your potential penalties, and your future. I’ll be happy to clarify any concerns you have.

Charged with Underage Drinking?

What consequences could you be facing if you’re convicted of underage drinking?

If you are 18, 19, or 20 years old, possessing or consuming alcohol is a Class 1 misdemeanor that can be punishable by up to 12 months in jail. A jail sentence is often paired with either a minimum $500 fine or 50 hours of community service, depending on your unique circumstances and the judge handling your case.

What if you’re a minor charged with underage drinking in Virginia? You will be tried in juvenile court if you’re under the age of 18. If you’re 16, 17, or 18 years old and had a license prior to your conviction, your license may be suspended or delayed six months. If you’re under the age of 16 or don’t have a driver’s license, you will have to wait six months before you can obtain one.

Are there penalties outside of jail time, fines, and community service? Yes. Your license could also be suspended for a minimum of six months and a maximum of 12 months on top of your other penalties. You could also be given a restricted license that only allows you to drive to and from work, doctor’s appointments, religious services, or court-ordered counseling sessions. These counseling sessions may include substance abuse guidance and support.

Outside of court-ordered penalties, you may have to deal with other consequences of an underage drinking conviction. For example, your college scholarships may be revoked or you may not be allowed entrance into your university altogether.

Do you really need an attorney in Virginia for a charge like this? Absolutely! Even if you’re a minor, underage drinking can still have an immense impact on your future, so having an aggressive, knowledgeable criminal defense attorney at your side could be the difference between a small fine or a year in jail, and you only have one chance at obtaining a positive result.