Getting a DUI is never an ideal situation for your driver's license record. However, despite the disastrous consequences that it can have on your life, DUIs are quite frequently given out, and it could be argued that the methods used to convict drivers of a DUI are not very accurate and dependable.
In the state of Virginia, being charged with a DUI means that you have been found to be driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher. This will likely result in the temporary revocation of your license -- often for 6 months -- and a fine.
Can I Clear My Record for My DUI Conviction?
In many states, it is possible for a person to be able to clear their DUI record after a certain amount of time. This can be very useful when he or she is applying for jobs that involve operating a vehicle, or when he or she is looking to lower car insurance premiums. However, in the state of Virginia, this is not possible to do. If a driver wants to clear his or her record of a DUI, he or she must seek a complete pardon.
How Can I Seek a DUI Pardon?
If you believe that you were not guilty of driving under the influence, there are many ways that you can seek to prove your innocence in front of the courts. DUI tests are known to be inaccurate, and they can be successfully disputed.
It is important that you conduct thorough research into how the law works in Virginia in regard to DUIs before taking action to clear your DUI record.
Source: FindLaw, "DUI Expungement Laws by State," accessed April 18, 2018