Representing Christiansburg And Montgomery County, Virginia
When asked to define reckless driving, people may say that it encompasses scenarios involving wild, erratic, fierce or outrageous driving. But in Virginia, reckless driving comprises much more than just out of control situations.
Surprisingly, drivers pulled over for speeding can face reckless driving charges. Authorities have even been known to cite drivers for reckless driving who unlawfully pass a stopped school bus or fail to yield.
These charges are nothing to take lightly. Reckless driving is considered a class 1 misdemeanor - one that carries steep penalties. Drivers can face a fine of up to $2500, the loss of their driver's license and up to 12 months in jail.
The fine you pay and whether jail time is likely for you will depend on your individual circumstances.
Learn About The Options For Your Situation
If you are facing a reckless driving charge, call (540) 305-3745 to find out how the law could apply to your situation. I am criminal defense attorney Will Clemons and can offer vital advocacy. I can meet with you, gather information about the stop and provide advice on options available for your circumstance.
I also assist with many other types of traffic offenses, including DUI.
Call (540) 305-3745 to set up an appointment. Without the help of a knowledgeable criminal defense lawyer, you could face more stringent penalties and repercussions than necessary.