Many people may think that in order to be charged with possession, a police officer must find a drug on your person. However, whether the item was inside your purse or luggage, clothing or in your hands, that's far from the case. An individual can actually be charged with drug possession even in cases in which a drug is simply relatively close to them, such as in their home or car.
The possession and distribution of opiates including heroin and morphine is illegal under both Virginia state and federal laws.
With Halloween only a few days away, the holiday season is upon us. It seems like the last night in October is the first in a series of holiday parties, family gatherings and various other events that usually involve alcohol. Between the monster martinis that your best friend makes for the annual Halloween party and the eggnog your aunt brings over on Thanksgiving to kick off the winter festivities, you may be at risk for engaging in driving under the influence (DUI).
In Virginia, it's illegal to drive a car or operate a boat under the influence of alcohol. For those over 21, any blood alcohol content (BAC) result at or above 0.08 percent is considered to indicate intoxication.
A 19-year-old linebacker for Virginia Tech was suspended from playing for the school's football team on Monday, Sept. 11. It's on that day that officers with the Blacksburg Police Department arrested and charged him with both possessing and attempting to distribute or sell marijuana related to an incident that allegedly occurred on Aug. 23.